More than 28,000 runners made their way down Broad Street for the 43rd annual Independence Blue Cross Broad Street Run, a race that featured historic firsts and new course records. The 10-mile road race is led by Philadelphia Parks & Recreation (PPR) in partnership with headline sponsor Independence Blue Cross, which has sponsored the Broad Street Run for 27 years. The race is broadcast live on NBC-10/Telemundo62.

The 2023 Independence Blue Cross Broad Street Run includes an awards category for the top non-binary finishers for the first time. First place male, female, and non-binary finishers each set a course record in their respective categories.

Independence Blue Cross CEO Greg Deavens joined Philadelphia Parks & Recreation Commissioner Kathryn Ott Lovell and Pennsylvania Governor Josh Shapiro at Broad Street and Fisher Avenue to kick off the race at 8:00 a.m.

“I was thrilled to celebrate runners’ return to Broad Street for Philadelphia’s iconic road race. Thank you to all the staff and volunteers who made it possible, and congratulations to all of our 2023 runners!” said Mayor Jim Kenney, who congratulated winners at the finish line.

This year the race ended in the K Lot of Lincoln Financial Field due to construction on League Island Avenue. The nation’s largest 10-miler is one of Philadelphia’s most beloved events, and typically takes runners from North Philadelphia to the Navy Yard—passing iconic landmarks such as Temple University, City Hall, the Academy of Fine Arts, and the Sports Complex.

Award winners

Wheelchair – Female

Emelia Perry – 40:29

Wheelchair – Male

Tony Nogueira – 39:43
Patrick McCloskey – 01:05:40
Jim Thompson – 01:09:53
Benjamin Baker – 01:12:09


Cynthia Limo – 50:54 (course record)
Amber Zimmerman – 52:15
Sarah Naibei – 52:55
Weynshet Weldetsadik – 53:23
Mercy Chepkurui – 53:41


Raymond Magut – 45:14 (course record)
Panuel Mkungo – 45:37
Aidan Reed – 46:02 (First American)
James Ngandu – 46:29
Shadrack Keter – 46:48


Cain Leather – 53:31 (course record)
Peter McLaughlin – 01:00:14
Winter Parts – 01:00:14
Josh Fernandez – 01:02:27
Jacklyn Vasko – 01:08:23

First Philadelphians

Joseph Maguire – 50:21
Amber Zimmerman – 52:15
Cain Leather – 53:31

PPR and Independence Blue Cross congratulate all winners.